pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

All-weather

Mid-week football training for m’boy has switched to the all-weather pitch on a Thursday night.

He has a birthday coming up soon and so was delighted when his grandparents let him have his birthday present a few days early: astro boots.

Not just any boots, but Adidas Predators. They certainly got a baptism of fire or rather, water as towards the end of the session the gusting wind was accompanied by a downpour. He seemed to enjoy it regardless, but I continue to worry about the shelf life of the team, as they simply don’t have enough players at present. The Under 10s (where he should be) are overstocked, but the Under 11s (where he is playing up) can’t get the players in!! It’s very strange.

In the short term though he was delighted with the boots, which seemed to serve their purpose well as he scored a cracking goal!

It was certainly the highlight of an otherwise trying day - until around midday I was catastrophising about a mistake I thought I had made, but it turns out that I hadn’t at all and do actually know how to do my job.

Whilst the children and I had tea, I asked them what they wanted to be when they were older and The Youngest’s response was by far my favourite for its specificity and will almost certainly come to pass:-

“When I am older, I want to be a scientist and test my potions on chickens to see if they explode.”

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.