pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Flying-V

Last night’s football training might not have been the best idea as m’boy, who was a bit under the weather anyway, woke up feeling even worse.

Even the magical elixir that is Calpol could not bring his spirits up, so I elected to keep him at home with me today. The Youngest did her best to convince me that she too was about to keel over any minute, but I’m familiar with her moves and know when she is truly ill.

I worked in the morning whilst he lay in bed reading and then in the afternoon we got curled up on the sofa whereupon I introduced him to one of my favourite films from my younger days: The Mighty Ducks. He really got into it and was on the edge of his seat at the - entirely predictable, but no less enjoyable - denouement. Nobody has an answer for the Flying-V and I’m surprised we don’t see it used more often in the NHL.

We ploughed on into the inevitable sequel: D2: The Mighty Ducks, which contains a scene of a texan teenager entering a live game and lassoing an opposing player to protect a teammate. I’m surprised we don’t see it used more often in the NHL. M’boy loved them both and by the time his mother had arrived to collect him, he seemed to have perked up.

With plans to see LadyV delayed until tomorrow, I was free to drop a giggling Eldest back to her mother after she’d been to see the latest Harry Styles film; Don’t Worry Darling. She is a huge fan of his, so I was surprised to see her in uncontrollable and infectious fits of giggles as she desperately tried to describe how bad his acting was.

Think I’ll probably give that one a swerve and keep on with eating Rolos* and watching Jeff Bridges in The Old Man, which is superb.

Thank f….goodness that week is over. Hello weekend, where the hell have you been?!


*Yes, in an act of trying love one's self more (not like that) I ate the last one.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.