In a Kowhai tree

This afternoon, I decided that although my left thigh is still slightly swollen I could start to run a bit more. There is now  minimal tenderness, and I have been running short distances without problems. Apart from walking the long uphill on Huia Road, I ran most of the rest of this circuit.

Early in the jog, I saw a large Kereru in a Kowhai tree. It would not have been after the nectar (as Tui are), so I presume it was eating fresh young leaves. It seemed relatively relaxed about my attention to it; until I got a little too close. 

Looking at the entry on Kereru in my Bird book, it seems that this is a "sub-adult". Based on the amount of dark colouring on the body, the eye, and the lack of a yellow tip to its beak. Maybe that's why it was more relaxed than these birds are usually.

The extra is a sign near the Woodlands Park School. It records that the schoolchildren and local people have combined to at least begin the removal of weeds and restoration of wetland plants for a stream running through a small gully running past the school.

The election result today (for the Auckland City Council and local boards) has been very depressing. Given the opportunity to elect a young man with modern attitudes to solving the problems of Auckland, voters have chosen an older man who has expressed no vision for Auckland beyond cutting costs. Daughter J was not elected to the local Board.

The voter turnout was pitifully low, the difficulties facing many voters discouraged even trying. It was a postal ballot, with no option to vote in person.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.