WHEEEEEEEEE!

It's Silly Saturday and this is as good a day as any to fulfill a motorhead request.
~
In the past I mentioned that I was working a race at Road America watching a race car come right at me into a hard right turn.  Just as the driver initiated the turn, the left front strut broke, tore off the entire wheel assembly and it flew through the air about 6 feet over my head into the trees behind me......I was watching this at 500mm of compression (I had a Nikkor 300mm f/2.8 lens with a 1.7x converter = 510mm effective).
~
The car body did a 180° clockwise swing and hit the gravel barrier right in front of me......real close.  From the strut breaking to hitting the gravel maybe 4 or 5 seconds elapsed....so I didn't have a whole lot of time to think about things or make any adjustments to my gear. So I just swung the lens at 500mm in the direction of the skid and machine-gunned a few frames expecting to get nothing.
~
Interestingly enough, I wound up with some perfectly exposed gravel flying through the air and a red tail light glowing in the midst of it all. I got pretty well peppered with gravel myself.
~
Just got lucky.....sometimes things just work out that way.  Best viewed in Large.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.