Combi31

By Combi31

Leap Frog

It was a beautiful day today - have to say that as we haven't had that many just recently.

I planted my tomatoes (12 different varieties), Aubergines (3 different varieties), Chilis, Peppers (4 different varieties) - that was a satisfying thing to do.

I went out to the lake down the road to try out the new hide I bought in Millau yesterday and I must say, I am verily impressed.

It is small enough to carry on my back along with a tripod and my camera - my other hide was a bit too heavy for that and I used a trolley, which, at times, wasn't too practical.

Basically, how it works is, it is a comfortable chair with arms (and a holder for a beer can cup of tea) I sit in the chair and pull the hide over me, then decide which of the five windows to poke the camera lens through.
It works a bit like the hood on the old prams, is quite roomy inside and extremely well made, with zipped window and velocroed mosquito netting dyed with a camouflage print.

I know it works as I had a sandpiper land not 3 meters away - I took some pics, which were good, but I preferred the frogs for today. Ducks, swans and a grey heron landed just nearby.

I was after the kingfishers and had put up a branch just in front of the hide for a perch for them, but I guess they need to get used to the new perch.

The problem is that I know where they are nesting, but it is covered by thick willows and is almost impossible to get a decent view with the camera.

So, in lieu of a kingfisher (this is getting to be a bit of a tradition now) here is a pair of frogs. See them BIGGER HERE

I hope you are having a lovely long weekend!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.