Millie

This is Millie the visiting cat. I’m thankful she hasn’t run away. She isn’t fat, just has a lot of fluff. 

We have had nice sunny weather all day but after the rain the river has risen to a moderate flood level (4.85m up from the usual 0.9m). That doesn’t affect us. If it was 6m I would be getting concerned as we are in an untested levee area. This wasn’t classified as a flood risk area after the levee was put in but with the wild weather around these days who knows. The water has been up to our house but not in it. That’s in the past…

The Great Race has gone ahead. I haven’t looked at any of it to be honest but just got a news flash saying who had won. We can hear the cars from here and helicopters fly overhead getting the live pictures you may be watching on TV. They had to close the car park which I found amusing. It was too muddy. The council has just spent $5.9m on a car park across the river for a football field. I have never seen any football games played there. They have also put in a huge car park at the ZigZag Railway even though the rail was severely burnt in the 19-20 bushfires. I wish they would put one in at the hospital or somewhere useful. 

I have also been feeding the neighbour’s cat and dog. Nina and Leo called in but didn’t stay long as Bob is still infectious. He has had a temperature and looked quite miserable. 

I have added two extras. One is the cardigan and cap I made for Arthur. His Dad, my brother, usually comes to the races (over 40 times over the years) but missed this year. I’ll post it to him. The grey knitting is the start of the first sock. A bit messy but I’m interested to see how I go with the heel and toe when I get that far.

Busy reading the Exiles by Jane Harper. So far so good. I like a book with a good ending so we will see.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.