Wardrobe

Today we finished the job that we started on Wednesday to clear the three rooms at the back of house in readiness for the installation of a new damp course, shower room, and (later) redecoration. I also made a good start on 'editing' my clothes, but I need some more time for this. I find it so hard to part with pieces - even those that I know that I will probably never wear again.

I bought this sweet wardrobe* on 11th November 1998 from Broughton Street Antiques (now long gone). If I am successful in cutting down my clothes collection to just the items that I actually wear, we won't need this storage for my out of season dresses and skirts. Over the next few days I need to work out the best way to sell it.

First of all, I need to establish its style and era. It was sold to me as Art Deco (~1910-1930), but I think that it looks more like Art Nouveau (~1890-1910), or possibly Arts and Crafts (~1880-1920). My not-so-little sister suggests Aesthetic movement. Is there a furniture expert in blipland who can help me out here?

There is a plate inside the door that reads 'Matthew Rose & Sons, Hackney, London, N.E.'. From searching for the name online, I have discovered that this firm began as a draper at 335 Mare Street, Hackney, London. By 1868 it had grown into a department store selling furniture and household goods, occupying 347-357 Mare Street and 2-18 Amhurst Road. Twenty years or so later the company was a leading department store in the area. It traded until 1936 when it was taken over by Marks and Spencer.

This evening we shared a couple of bottles of fizz with our upstairs neighbours on their last night in residence in our building. They leave for their new life in France tomorrow evening. The new neighbours will move in at the end of November.

*Dimensions: total height 185cm (main body only height 177cm); total width 93cm (main body only width 77cm); depth 38 cm.

Exercise today: 5k run; 8418 steps (including run).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.