A Day In The Life

By Irish59

All The Buzz

Over the past few weeks we’ve spotted one, two, sometimes three large predators (or so we thought) soaring and circling overhead. We couldn’t identify them until today, thanks to MrsP when she noticed one fly into a tree across the road! • I hustled inside the house to grab my camera and immediately regretted removing my long lens yesterday for foliage shots. Pleased to see the bird still there I took a bunch of photos but couldn’t tell what it was • So I ran inside for my binoculars and realized it was not a predator but a scavenger, a vulture, but it’s non-red head confused me. Off I went to change out my lens. I figured if it was meant to be the “buzzard” would wait for my return. And, voilà, here he is up close and personal!! • Apparently juvenile turkey vultures have a darker head along with black-tipped beaks. Only the adults have the bright red head that most of us are familiar with • With another frost advisory looming I got rid of the verbana and nasturtiums today but kept both pots of zinnias, at least for another week • Enjoy the rest of your Sunday!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.