A Day In The Life

By Irish59

Gobble•Gobble

It was cold and dark when I got up this morning because I couldn’t sleep, plus the thought of lingering a minute longer in bed when I could be making coffee, feeding the cats and baking cornbread was not what I wanted to do • Kitties were happy • After my first cup of coffee I glanced outside to catch 14 wild turkeys racing across the street from our neighbor’s property into our driveway. I shouted upstairs to MrsP to look out the window. The big birds visited several places in the yard, moving every time a vehicle passed, and eventually trotted back to the woods across the street. Sadly, it’s turkey hunting season in Maine until Nov 7. It makes me ill thinking about it. More than 5,000 turkeys were killed during 2021’s hunting season. I do hope these remain safe from humans and visit again soon • The early sun disappeared quickly behind clouds and drizzle so the last of the garden chores will have to wait until tomorrow. I did pick our two birdhouse gourds. Both have been wiped down with a water-bleach solution and they’ll dry in a cool ventilated space for the winter • Today is a Federal Holiday known to most as Columbus Day. Maine is one of ten states that officially celebrate it as Indigenous People’s Day • Have a healthy and peaceful week!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.