Dawn's Journal

By DawnP

Ceunant Mawr Waterfall

No trip to North Wales would be complete without a visit to Llanberis. I had considered the train ride up Snowdon, but the train doesn't currently run to the summit and at this time of year is drawn by diesel, so I decided to give it a miss this time. Instead, I took the little train along the lake with views across to the Snowden Mountain range (extra).

I visited the National Slate Museum for lunch, taking the opportunity to plot a route to the waterfalls via the 13th century ruined Dolbadarn Castle on the OS map app.  However, I misread the map and ended up on the wrong side of the river and too high up ... at least there was a handy cafe for some coffee while I rechecked the route. A 15min walk later got me to the base of the falls which were well worth the effort.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.