GracieG

By GracieG

Backblip
I had a few hours to myself in Ely today.  My anticipated quiet walk around the cathedral taking photos didn't quite go to plan though.  I hadn't realised that there was a 'Harvest Festival’ event in the Cathedral and outside on the green all day.  As a result there were rather more people in the cathedral than I expected, (not to mention a couple of sheep and a tractor!).

I did manage to take some experimental photos of some of the beautiful stained glass windows, although not easy to get the light right and to deal with converging verticals (I could have done with a tall step ladder to be level with them).  This one was taken by using a slow shutter speed and then moving my zoom lens in and out whilst the camera was taking the photo.

I've put an extra of the cathedral taken from the path through the park using an antique plate black & white filter.

I've come to the conclusion that walking around with a camera is a bit like walking the dog...people seem happy to strike up a conversation, which I think is just great.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.