The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

St Michael and All Angels', Ford

Day 3: Cullen skink and Cranachan

Heatherslaw mill, where corn is ground  in a restored mill. Watched the water wheel turning, turning, driven by the river Trim.

A ride up the valley in a light railway. Me to D:
You can sit in this carriage. It says Priority Access.
D to me: but I want to sit with you
Me to D:  I can sit here with you too, because I'm your companion.
Watched the little green engine engine being rotated on the turntable for the return journey.

Etal village: possibly the world's most expensive Post Office stores. Sunflowers grow in the garden next to the Lavender Tea Rooms.

Ford Village: Lady Waterford's decorated schoolroom, Pre-Raphaelite style. Painted by Lady W herself. Sunlight streaming in, illuminating my knowledge of the past and refreshing my knowledge of Bible stories (see extras for the schoolroom). The highlight of my day.

St Michael and All Angels' church. A screen across the door to stop swallows flying in to nest. 

Ford Castle: A PGL adventure holiday centre. You'd land on your feet if you got sent there for summer camp.

Berwick upon Tweed: Cullen Skink and Cranachan in the Arts Centre overlooking the river. A solo walk/run around the city ramparts. Three bridges span the river Tweed, almost on top of each other.

Me to D: are you sure you'll be ok to get back to the coach from here?
D: of course I will. All I have to do is go out, straight back up the lane, and then turn left.
D to me (an hour later): I couldn't find my way out to the street. I went to the toilet, came out on a different floor, and wandered into a room where a film was showing. A kind lady put me in the lift, then she ran up the stairs and took me out of the lift again and showed me the way to the exit.

Me to me (privately): You went to the toilet and came out on a different floor? Oh dear, I knew I should never have left you, but I did so much want to walk the city walls....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.