Something new

Yesterday morning I was scheduled to get my Covid booster shot, but just before leaving I managed to fall.  Fortunately I was in the living room, which meant that I would be able to get myself up, but I was pretty banged up and wasn't up to much for the rest of the day.  One thing I didn't manage was to do a blip; I just didn't have the energy for it.

Doing better today, but still a bit bruised, I went to get my new hearing aids, shown above. They fit directly in my ear and have a little wire that I hold to insert the mold.  We spent a long time setting them up and getting to the point where I could put them in myself.  It's odd to have something in my ears and the sound quality will take some getting used to, but it's great to have the volume and the increased clarity.  And I can make adjustments to the aids from an app on my phone, rather than playing around with the tiny buttons on the aids themselves. Now I have two weeks to work with them before I go back to the audiologist for adjustments. What you see above is the carrying/recharging case, which plugs into the wall and recharges the aids when they are in there.

I got a call this evening from Nancy and she is leaving Seattle, moving to Santa Fe.  I'll be sorry to see her go, as I've enjoyed our lunches together and it's been nice being with someone who has known me so very long (57 years) and with whom I feel at ease. But being here has not worked out for her and I think this will be a good change.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.