This is the day

By wrencottage

Gather ye rosebuds

The Traveller arrived last night and is staying for a week, which is wonderful. Every time he arrives through the front door on one of these visits, we have the same ritual. I dash to the staircase, stand on the bottom step, and then I’m just the right height for a hug with my lanky son! We’re looking forward to catching up on his news and enjoying lots of chats.

My little greetings cards cottage industry is now in full flow producing stocks of Christmas cards so, in the absence of any outdoor activity again today, I will have to post yet another photo of my beloved "Pretty Lady" rose bush in the back garden. 


Gather ye rosebuds while ye may,
    Old Time is still a-flying:
And this same flower that smiles today,
    Tomorrow will be dying.

Robert Herrick  (1591-1674)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.