PINKTOBER - DAY 13 - WELCOME TO THE ICAFE

“More things are wrought by prayer
     than this world dreams of…”
Alfred, Lord Tennyson

I’m starting my journal today with a quote rather than leaving it until the end - and more will be revealed later.

Today was the day that the iCafé opened at Gorse Hill Baptist Church and I got there quite early, as I normally do - to find that Marie, the organiser was a little concerned to find that the Powerpoint Presentation she had prepared had vanished from her laptop.  She was also upset because she couldn’t find the HDMI cable for the television - both were needed and urgently! 

So, as I was setting up my display before everyone arrived - see bottom shot in my collage - she came into the room where I was and asked if we could pray - which we both did - that the Powerpoint presentation would be found and also the elusive HDMI cable.  I am happy to tell you that both prayers were answered, hence my quote at the beginning!  This initiative is run under the auspices of the Stepping Stones Project (Community Adult Development Groups) so Heather, the Team Leader of that group also came in and prayed with us before the doors were opened. 

Just before 11 o’clock what a lovely surprise we had to find that seventeen people were waiting to come in - from 11 different countries.  A great boost when you don’t quite know if you will get anyone!  Of course, some of their names were rather different, but Dianne, who was on registration coped very well.

Tina was busy in the kitchen and provided ample cups of tea and coffee and of course, there had to be chocolate biscuits, which went down very well - but who doesn’t like a chocolate biscuit?

We introduced ourselves to one another and enjoyed our coffee and biscuits.  Then, after Marie had explained that in the UK we were now in the season called “Autumn”, we watched a video about the different words associated with this season - following which she asked some questions and we all repeated the words.  There were some amusing moments, and I don’t think we realised how difficult it would be to explain what a hedgehog was to those who have never seen one!  However, it was good to have the conker shells to show them what prickly meant!  

We then split into small groups and matched the various words to pictures on a card - and repeated them often so that those who couldn’t speak very much English were able to learn them and then were able to practise .  One that seemed to cause the most consternation was “Squirrel”, but many of the other words seemed to trip off everyone’s tongues quite well.  There was a lovely atmosphere and a “buzz” in the room and there was good interaction within the whole group.

Marie spoke about the weather getting colder now and took various items of clothing out of her bag, which were modelled superbly by Dianne - and although she let me take a photograph, she was a little shy, so I have saved her from embarrassment by “cutting off her head” in the top left shot in my collage, and I’m sure she will be quite happy with that - and for once, I had a good excuse for doing so!  

My display, which I collected yesterday was helpful to show the colours and the fruits of Autumn and we had great fun with the sycamore seeds, throwing them into the air and watching them float down like helicopters.  It was also interesting that several in the group that I was in asked if the conkers and acorns could be eaten, like nuts, but I quickly assured them that they would be very ill if they ate them, although I did say that squirrels were very partial to acorns and explained about them being hidden - which made them laugh and gave us another excuse to practise saying the word “Squirrel”.

Marie had explained that we would be finishing with a story from the Bible, but she realised that some of them were of a different religion, so they were free to go if they wanted to - however, they all stayed and seemed to enjoy it.

Before we knew it, 12.30 arrived so it was time to say Goodbye to our new friends - we hope they will all come back next week and learn more about England, its seasons, customs and culture.  A very worthwhile morning and of course, once they had all gone, Marie prayed again and thanked God for all that had been accomplished.

You know the drill by now and I know that many of you have been clicking on this LINK - please continue to do so, which will enable those who cannot afford to pay for a mammogram to have a free one. 

P.S.  I couldn't resist putting a quote at the end too - one I read in my book this morning, "In the Presence of Jesus" by Paul Bane and Matt Litton and which was so true for us all today:

“…you have been placed right where you are this day to reflect My power and good governance over all creation and to participate in bringing My love to others."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.