PINKTOBER - DAY 12 - WE KNOW CONKERS AREN'T PINK!

Hello Lovely Blippers,

Reeth here - when I heard Mrs. HCB say that she was going over to the horse chestnut trees just over the road from where they live, to see if she could collect some conkers, I jumped into her bag quickly - because I just LOVE conkers!

She told Mr. HCB that at the new iCafé that is starting tomorrow at their Church, where they will be helping those whose first language is not English, to learn the language and more about our culture and customs - what could be better than to talk about Autumn.  In fact, Marie, who is organising these special classes as part of the outreach at the Church, sent a sheet through this morning with lots of different words and pictures about Autumn.  As Mrs. HCB is a great one for visual displays, she decided to go and find some conkers and leaves to take tomorrow, as she is one of the volunteers who will be helping.  It was great for me, but of course, I know lots about conkers, so I was happy just snaffling around in the dead leaves and the conkers and conker shells.

There were lots of conkers on the ground, but some were hidden so Mrs. HCB had great fun kicking up the leaves and finding them - and you can see she found loads.  Then she told me that I needed to sit on a piece of wood so that I would be up above the conkers and then she would take my photograph - actually I was pleased not to be too near some of the empty shells, because I noticed there were quite a few slugs in them - yuk!

After she had half a  bag full, she then crossed back over the road and picked up lots of beautiful sycamore leaves - well I thought they were beautiful, but she said that Mr. HCB doesn’t think so when they all fall from the trees and end up in his garden!  Some people just don’t see the beauty, do they?  She also found a lot of the seed pods from the sycamore trees, so those went into her bag too.  The people who had just got off the bus probably thought she was a silly old lady doing that, but I think it is a great idea and she says she is even going to go over into her field this afternoon and find some acorns and oak tree leaves.  I think she needs to slow down a bit, but you can’t tell her - I know Mr. HCB tries, but doesn’t get very far!

Have a great day and I’m sure Mrs. HCB will let you all know how it goes tomorrow at the iCafé.  I don’t think we will have time to play a game of conkers there, but perhaps when we get home, I  could ask Mr. HCB to put some conkers on strings so that we could play against one another because he knows all about the game.

You know the drill by now - please click on this LINK so that those who cannot afford to pay for a mammogram can have a free one.  Bless you all for clicking - it does make a difference.

“Opportunities to find deeper powers within ourselves 
     come when life seems most challenging.”
Joseph Campbell

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.