PINKTOBER - DAY 14 - AND A LOVELY BLIPMEET

I wanted to make a Bread Pudding this morning ready to take to our Pastoral Care Group Meeting next week, so last night soaked the bread and the dried fruit was left marinating in at least six tablespoons of brandy - not quite sure of the quantity as I did try to measure it, but my hand may have slipped! 

This morning, I got on with mixing it up and Mr. HCB kindly washed up when I had finished making it - it’s so good to have someone who does that!  Of course, I did tell him that he could have a piece of the finished article, which he said he was pleased about.  There has been some chat in our Pastoral Care Whatsapp group about this Bread Pudding, especially as I had got the bread from the Community Fridge - but all is well, it is made and smells delicious - well should with all that brandy!  I did say to the various members of the PC Group that if anyone was allergic to brandy, they should let me know - but I heard nothing, so assume they are all fine with it.  I must say that the kitchen smelt lovely this morning when we came downstairs!  See extra photograph for how I prepared it - the recipe said to squeeze all the water out and beat it to a pulp with a wooden spoon, but I have found that much the best way is to get your hands in and “give it some welly” as the saying goes!  Mr. HCB did say that I could tell the PC Group that if, as Tester in Chief, he wasn’t allowed to try some, then it wouldn’t get out of the door, but he has tried it and has given it a “thumbs up!”

We always love seeing our Blip friend, Heidi, so when she asked earlier in the week how we were fixed for a visit today, we immediately said we were available.  She had to take something back to a store near us, so it seemed silly not to visit when she was so near.

I prepared lunch for us all and we enjoyed chatting together during and after lunch, and then I said that we needed to have a selfie for our Blip today - however, I said I was disappointed that she wasn’t wearing pink, whereupon she got out her pink glasses, so I agreed they would do.

Both of us went out into the garden, and had a game of Hide & Seek, although Mr. HCB obviously didn’t feel up to having his photograph taken and said he was happy for us to go out on our own.  Heidi was happily snapping away at the various flowers and I was looking for her - peeping out from among our Michaelmas Daisies.  I then found her and took another shot of the two of us and of course, as well as wearing a pink jumper, Reeth jumped in - I guess he is pink, so I didn’t like to stop him!  We had a lovely day together and look forward to the next one - Blip is such a wonderful community for making friends and it’s even better when you have actually have a good Blipmeet.

I’m sure you don’t need reminding about clicking on this LINK so that those who cannot afford to pay for a mammogram can have one free - but please keep clicking!

“I look at my cancer journey as a gift;
     it made me slow down and
          realise the important things in life and
               taught me not to sweat the small stuff.”
Olivia Newton-John

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.