The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Grotesque and Gorge

First stop Newbiggin-by-the-sea. There is a sculpture in the sea, on a raised platform, and a promenade with a rebuilt sea wall, and some soft, soft sands. A small museum, a church, and that's about it in October. Never went into the town. D and I strolled along the prom to Caffe Bertorelli, and he drank his takeaway coffee on a bench and I drank mine on the beach. I must have left my sunglasses there whilst messing around with selfies.

Then on to to Rothbury, the birthplace of Alexander Asmtrong (!) and striking in autumn foliage. I was so busy being D's carer (taking him to the pharmacy, getting him a place to sit and eat, making sure we were never far from a loo) that I took no photos. I did, however, find a couple of bargain books in a charity shop. There were around  four bakeries in Rothbury but none offered gluten free, so I had posh crisps for lunch.

Then, the highlight of the trip: Cragside House and estate. 
https://www.nationaltrust.org.uk/cragside

D said he preferred the 'other house' (Alnwick castle) because it had a lift, but visiting this massive property, and the estate with its tumbling landscapes and dramatic vistas, suited me. After we'd seen the house together and had a cup of tea, I left D in the sunny coutyard waiting for the minibus back to the coach, and went exploring. I was headed for the Gorge, because apparently there were little ledges and bridges and lots of up-and-down. I wasn't disappointed, and soon arrived at the powerhouse. Then on to the pump house and the lake, and bumped into D again. We went and sat by the lake for a while before returning to the coach.

Dinner was fabulous, at the hotel, and I retired early to pack and listen to a podcast. I honestly could not face another evening in the bar with D, because the conversation inevitably turns to food and cooking. 'I like a bit of beetroot with my kippers' would be a typical example. Much as I've enjoyed this holiday, I do need time to think my own thoughts.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.