Newcastle Downunder

By jensphotos

Brend ze knees and...

remember to keep your mouth closed.  Do you remember learning to snow ski and being told to "bend ze knees".   I seemed to have a lot of Austrian instructors when I was learning.

This chap has got the bend ze knees part off pat but I think he got a mouthful of sea in the next frame.  Oh and the sea is brownish because of the storm water run off.

I had a wonderful time at drumming today.  I seem not to be in a beginners class and at times learning the rhythms was like patting your head and circling your tummy.  I had to stop a few times and just wait until I had the rhythm back in my head again.  The class goes for 90 minutes without a break and so I now have very stiff shoulders and arms at the moment.  No doubt I will get match fit as time goes on.  I will miss next week as I will be back in Sydney but fortunately, the teacher tapes the classes and so I will be able to catch up.  My other confusion is that I write left handed and tend to start the beat with my left hand when it should be the other way around.  I may wind up doing it differently to everyone else.  Oh and they are djembe drums we are using although there are other bigger drums which give a bass beat that a couple of the class were using and whose name I have forgotten.

It was then lunch and cards after class and a quick swing by Pogonoski's on the way home (that's a corner near Dixon Park).  We had a glorious day today after brief showers this morning and another fine day is forecast for tomorrow.  Wishing you all a happy weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.