Newcastle Downunder

By jensphotos

Can you hear the drums Fernando?

There is nothing like a drumming circle to make connections.  For a start, you can hear the drums miles away and they have for a long time being used for communication, not only music and entertainment.

I thought I would use this as a lead in to the connections I have made on blip over the last 12 years.  I started in 2011 when a friend of mine joined up.   She dropped away after a short time but for me it stuck.  Her loss.  Freespiral was the third blipper I subscribed too.   Half the world away and we are both still blipping and blip pals.  She and Himself have opened their home to me and I met many of the Irish contingent when I was there some years back.  Another very memorable blipmeet was the ANZAC blipmeet in Wanaka in 2015.   Both sides of the ditch were well represented.  I have to say there is not one blipmeet I have been to that isn't like old friends meeting even if you have never met 'in the flesh' so to speak.  I think it happens because your blip pals share their daily lives with you.  What an honour that is too that you can be a part of so many peoples lives.   So thank you Joe Tree for your creation and to the team for keeping it going.

And so today's drumming circle was in aid of mental health week.  That is Benjie our teacher on the left, Ang on the duns and others from the Wednesday night class.  There was a wellness walk which the drumming group lead.   My drum is too heavy to walk some kilometres so I was on the 'bells'.  It was then off to cast my vote in the referendum.  Sadly, I think this is a missed opportunity to acknowledge our First Nations people as it is likely it won't be passed.  Referendums are not easy to get up unless the two main political parties get on board and this one seems to have been particularly divisive. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.