Free Heat - Sort of

Free Heat - Sort of

Haddenham is a great village to live in - its got probably everything you your ask for, A Spar Shop, a great butchers, Fish and Chip Shop, two pubs, three church’s, Post Office, Pharmacist, friendly garage, a Kebab van and  ….. a partridge in a pear tree :) Everything except Gas. Most of the houses in the village have a large bottled gas cylinder in their garden. 

This time last year we changed our heating to an ‘Air Source Heat Pump’ complete with government grant for the next 5 years. At the time it was a reasonable financial decision. Time will tell now.

We have a gas fire in the living room that we have not really used since we moved here. Putting a jumper on is easier. 

When the new heating was installed there was some gas still in the tank we kept the pipes to the gas fire. I contacted Calor Gas to have the large tank removed and after about 9 months + a few reminders they got in touch. With the rise in fuel costs I told them that I would like to have the work done next spring. I could use the gas to supplement our heating.

At the moment we have not turned the heating on this autumn. I took the opportunity today to get the gas fire working. Not a big job I just had to remove the ‘Sheep’ from the chimney. The last time I tried a few years ago I got the silly thing jammed. It came out a treat today. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.