Lenzie Moss

My daughter and I went to visit the Lenzie family today. We'd been invited for lunch. The girls' kind auntie had brought them presents from Florida. We had a tasty lunch and a slightly hysterical game of 'Act it Out' before we left the girls to get ready for a friend's birthday party.

On the way to lunch we stopped at Lenzie Moss for a short walk. Such lovely woods and footpaths.

I was so taken aback when I heard about actor Robbie Coltrane's death yesterday. I have a very loose childhood connection with him in that when I was three my parents bought a house in Rutherglen from his parents. Living in Glasgow was never going to be my Edinburgh mum's dream but the McMillan family became friends. Ian, Robin's (as we knew him) dad, was our GP and his mum often looked after me, especially when my own mum was in hospital. Dr McMillan I don't remember but Robin's mum Jean I do, a bit. My only memory of Robin himself is when he pretended that my dad had reversed the car over his foot. A convincing actor at an early age!

I enjoyed Coltrane as Cracker and Hagrid but my favourite has to be Tutti Frutti.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.