Windmill 'Leonide', Anna Paulowna

'Leonide' = 4 syllables = 'Le-o--ni-duh'

Anna Paulowna is the name of the town.  It's really 'Paulowna' and not 'Pavlovna' or 'Paulovna'.  It is a polder that was named after Anna Romanova (yes, those Romanovs), wife of King Willem II, who I believe became king in 1831 or 1832, shortly after Belgium declared its independence from us.  What used to be the Low Countries split up into three -- The Netherlands, Belgium, and Luxemburg.  The old duchy of Burgundy continues to live on in these three countries, shaped by such rulers as Charles the Bold, Philip the Good, and much later, Maximilian the First who married Mary of Burgundy, parents of Holy Roman Emperor Charles V, father of the infamous Philip II, arch enemy of the Dutch in the equally infamous 80 Years War.  Willem II's time was centuries later, of course.

Anyway, the Anna Paulowna polder was completely flooded a number of times in the past.  In the mid-1850s, private funding / contributions helped to restore the polder and in 1870 it became a municipality in its own right, and then on 01 Jan 2012, it fused with three other municipalities -- Niedorp ('new dorp'), Wieringen, and Wieringermeer to form the new municipality Hollands Kroon ('krone').

An extra!  Shot from the other side of the canal.  Anna Paulowna is located close to the northernmost tip of the mainland in the province of Noord Holland, close to the North Sea.  The Leonide, however, is not the northernmost windmill of the province.  If I want to shoot that, and I do, I would need to cross the water to the holiday island of Texel.  I will really leave that for another time.

Oh, and by the way, the Leonide is for sale!  Any takers?

Fabulous weather from morning till late afternoon!  Before leaving, though, I cleaned the kitchen thoroughly, finishing what I didn't do yesterday evening.  There was one mail and I spent time replying to it.  And then I apped them both that I was going out of town, WiFi not guaranteed.  Monday will be another day.

I've had a good weekend.  You all, too?  Thanks for dropping by!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.