Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

A day at Blyth (by the sea)

The Northern Documentary Group of the RPS had a day out today, at Blyth Battery.

The forecast was less than encouraging, but I have not seen members of the group for ages. We did not meet through Covid and in recent months I haven't made it to the meetings. Margaret (across the road) came early so that I could leave at 0830 and she helped Mum to dress and made her breakfast.

Later, Annette came and made sure that Mum was OK as well as cleaing our house.

It was dreich at Blyth. I was warm enough but the constant drizzle was irritating. We agreed that mono images would be the order of the day. Then I decided to photograph these iconic beach huts. Most photographers in the NE will have photographed them. They have to be colour!

I wanted a different angle and found it in a children's playground. Then a starling decided to photobomb the image. 

My extra is a mono image of the boiling sea. I think I have a few keepers from the day but I'm too tired tonight to do any more processing.

I did walk all the way to the south pier and to the end of it so I've had plenty of exercise today.

It was a very enjoyable day out, not least the crack in the excellent café.

The rain was much worse at home than we had it on the coast.....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.