Garlic and Cabaret

More gardening today - garlic planted and a few record photos taken, so I remember which of the two sorts of commercial bulbs garlic is planted where. There were many tiny cloves from the garlics I harvested this year, some from small bulbs and some from bulbs and seeds growing on the stalk (bulbils). All this was planted into another bed to see what happens!
This evening we went to see the 1972 film "Cabaret" at the local community college's film club. I was a bit amazed to hear the film was 50 years old this year. Since I saw it when it was first released that does make me feel a little old!
The film, set in 1931/2 Berlin is frighteningly relevant to politics today. Even without that it is a wonderful film and fully deserved its 8 Oscars. It was the first musical to get an X rating in both the US and the UK. If you haven't seen it go see it. If you have seen it I'd recommend seeing it again. A real piece of classic cinema.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.