Coastal Classic …

… yacht race from Auckland to the Bay of Islands.

Apologies, but I’ve got way behind again.  Please be patient and I’ll catch up soon.

Also, I’ve changed the photo because I wasn’t happy with the collage.

We left home about 9:25am this morning to walk down to St Heliers to meet a walking group friend and from there to Mission Bay, collecting other walkers along the way. Our ultimate destination was the Berkeley Theatre, which was showing “Mrs Harris Goes to Paris”.  As we arrived at Mission Bay, Mr MacD decided it was too nice a day to be cooped up inside a theatre watching a chick flick with a bunch of women, so he headed back home to do some gardening.  

After the movie finished, I just had time for a quick coffee with the girls before leaving to walk back to Kohimarama for my Pilates class.  Halfway there and I suddenly realised, to my great embarrassment, that I’d left without paying for my coffee - the first time I’ve ever done anything like that. I quickly phoned one of the girls and asked her to pay and I’d reimburse her at walking group on Tuesday.  Her reaction was that they could collectively afford to pay for my cup of coffee and not to worry.  I’m still feeling embarrassed.

As we walked this morning we noticed a large number of yachts heading out past Rangitoto.  When one of our friends joined us at Kohimarama, she explained that it was the Coastal Classic Race.  Such a lovely morning to be out on the water sailing up the coast from Auckland to Russell - https://www.scoop.co.nz/stories/CU2210/S00105/big-fleet-for-big-birthday-race-170-boats-entered-in-40th-anniversary-of-iconic-kiwi-race.htm.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.