Linde (II)

After blipping the lime tree in the vineyards last week, I thought of another one, much older and more famous, in our area. It’s called Blutlinde (blood linden tree) and has been growing in nearby Frauenstein for way over 800 years. It’s still alive, but very old and gnarled, and some of its branches need propping up, so it doesn’t break apart. 
The sign tells the local legend that a young man who kidnapped the niece of a Frauenstein castle lord was once executed here, and his bride had the lime tree planted in his memory. What’s documented is that this lime tree was first mentioned in 1413, and the village court would be held under it.

I blipped it on my way back from my mother’s house this afternoon. I had gone there to help insulate the front door and the attic (an attempt to reduce the enormous heating costs). So I didn’t have time for a walk today, and I missed the only sunshine on this otherwise foggy and very wet day. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.