Marionb

By Marionb

The Morning Commute..

I remember it well.. For almost 6 years, I made that hellish commute into Toronto every day.

One of the selling features of the houses in our neighbourhood is that we have "easy access to the 401" Oh joy! Great if you WANT access to the freeway, but having it two blocks from your doorstep has its disadvantages too.. .like noise...and pollution...but also it seems, it does provide a good view of the sunrise! Who knew? 

It was a very cold and frosty morning..(cue up that familiar sound of frost being scraped off windshields) and for once this week I was up early enough to care about seeing the sunrise..I have been tired and sleeping in a lot lately ...which is totally out of character ...and had arisen in daylight! What's with that? The sun is already up? 

This morning, though, I was up early sipping coffee by the fire with my cat when my friend next door, out walking her dog as usual, sent a text saying that it looked as if the sunrise was going to be worth watching this morning.... so, I put on my parka - yes it was that cold - and I should have taken gloves too, but did not..and walked the two blocks to the bridge  to see if she was right..and she was....it was worth it..

My heart goes out to all those poor commuters out there..the daily battle to get to work...yuk. As I said, I remember it well..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.