A Patchwork For Autumn

Two beautiful autumn days in a row..sunny, warm and still lots of colour...I particularly like the subdued colours of the Virginia Creeper this year; it is often a brilliant red, but not so much this year..and turns out I have the perfect quilt to co-ordinate with it lest I should wish to sit wrapped in a quilt in front of that backdrop.

I did venture out into the back garden, with quilt, but did not have to wrap up in it; it was plenty warm enough without it. I soaked up some rays on the back deck and then puttered about cutting back the hostas in preparation for winter... So much yet to do out there..but thankfully, I have E, my gardening neighbour, to do all the heavy work.. but not today; today is a day of rest, perfect for enjoying these last warm days in the sun. There will be plenty of time ahead for emptying pots, planting bulbs and raking up the tons of leaves that are starting  to fall out there! 

That walnut tree, however, is a sneaky one..I know it is saving up its leaves in order to drop them all in one fell swoop, laying a blanket of yellow over the entire yard.. and probably waiting until after the town's last pick-up of yard waste for the year! It did that two years ago...I happened to be home at the time and clocked it at less than a half hour for it to drop every last leaf! (extra) but at least back then I still had time to rake them up and get them to the curb in time. I just know that tree has something up its sleeve...a more devilish plan for this year...and I figure it has something to do with pick-up time...I will warn E. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.