Marionb

By Marionb

A Funny Thing Happened...

 On the Way to the Park...

When is a walk in the park not a "walk in the park"? When there is an accident on the 401! 

I started out this morning to drive to my local conservation area for a short walk in the woods, only to get caught up in a massive traffic jam with no way to escape! If only I had listened to the morning news...a serious accident had closed all lanes east and west on the busiest freeway in the country and all alternate routes on both sides of the freeway were now jammed solid with transport trucks and cars.. I was trapped! 

So...getting to my walk had unexpectedly become a marathon - not in distance, but in time. I gave up on that conservation area, but with no quick way home, I kept going (which is a misleading word as not a lot of "going" was happening!)  and drove  - very slowly - to another conservation area further away, north of town....

In the end, a quick walk in the woods had taken hours of my morning  and had morphed into a noon-hour stroll..which is not the best time of day for photos!  Most of my photos were not usable but there is always an editing app that can help (main) 

Regardless of the trek to get there and the photographic challenges of mid-day sun, it felt good to meander through peaceful woods with the sun streaking through the canopy, highlighting what is left of autumn colour - little little bright spots in a basically dark and shadowy forest... (extra) 

At least I was only trying to go for a walk and not to work. It brought back memories of commuting to Toronto and the stress that created for me on a daily basis... Thank goodness those days are long gone....

Retirement is wonderful.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.