Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Family reunion

We had a good flight to Johannesburg, it was the first time in a long time that I enjoyed a British Airways flight - good service, a decent meal and I managed to sleep quite well. The flight was extremely turbulent, I had forgotten just how much turbulence there is flying over Africa, and the plane was shaking and rattling all night long, despite being a huge A380 airbus. 

We had a short layover in Johannesburg before getting our flight to Durban. It has felt strange to be back here again - it is different and yet it is the same. Good to see some new developments, some new buildings have arisen in the 6 years since I last visited Durban. Durban is usually very hot and humid at this time of year but today was cooler with some rain.

Our accommodation in Umhlanga is somewhere we have stayed on many occasions before, it is a charming boutique hotel - about 8 individually styled rooms in a large house with a pretty garden and pool. The last time we stayed here was when we came to celebrate my mother's 80th birthday (6 years ago) and I felt sad remembering all of us sitting outside near the pool - now my mother and my mother in law are no longer with us, and I remember them sitting in this garden chatting and being happy to be with our family. 

We had a shower and freshened up and then went to my sister's house where we had lunch together. Then we drove to my niece's house where it was so wonderful to finally meet my great nephew, who is now 2 years old, and my great niece, who is 4 month old. They have all been ill particularly the poor baby who spent a day in hospital only 2 days ago but is recovering well. This is a photo of my niece and her baby daughter. 

We had a lovely afternoon together and then had curry take away for supper. Durban curries are quite famous, as Durban has a large Indian population - in fact it is the city with the largest Indian population outside of India. My Durban Curry was delicious!

We are feeling very tired after the night on the plane so are now back at our hotel and are about to go to bed. It has been a busy day and I am more than ready for my bed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.