A Day In The Life

By Irish59

It’s Here

Uke arrived and we’ve been getting to know one another. Well, sort of. I’ve mostly been reading my Ukelele Primer For Beginners book, and before starting lesson one I will watch the instructional video. I’m mostly excited but feeling overwhelmed after looking through the lesson book. I keep repeating “One step at a time” to keep my head in check • It was interesting to learn the uke dates back to 1879 when Portuguese immigrant workers arrived in Honolulu aboard the English ship Ravenscrag. They brought with them a small guitar-like instrument called the machete, which immediately became popular with the native Hawaiians. It was renamed ukelele or “jumping flea” due to the way a player’s fingers jumped around the fretboard • Hope you keep a song in your heart today! Feel free to share which one :) Mine is Somewhere Over The Rainbow by Israel Kamakawiwo’ole…

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.