This is the day

By wrencottage

Treasure Hunt

A Christmas present I’d ordered for one of my granddaughters was due to be delivered by Royal Mail 48 today. We were in all day, but after the early morning email from Royal Mail confirming they were coming today, I heard nothing more from them until 7.45 this evening, when they told me my parcel had been delivered!

Except it hadn’t. There was an accompanying photograph showing a recycling bin with its lid ajar, and what looked like the corner of a parcel inside (see extras). I didn’t recognise the bin, and there was no indication of where the photo was taken, but I needed to find it quickly because the recycling crew come early tomorrow to empty the recycling boxes. I was desperate not to lose the present, because it may not have been replaceable. (The items were in short supply when I ordered mine.)

By this time, of course, it was dark, as well as damp underfoot with lots of wet leaves. However, there was nothing for it but to venture out and try and locate the mystery bin . 

The estate where we live has three roads with similar names, and occasionally mail does get sent to the wrong house. So I headed to the house in the next road which has the same number as us, but drew a blank. I then walked to the third road, a bit further away. The house with the same number as ours has a steep, stepped, unlit path leading down to the house and I had to use the torch on my phone to unlock the gate and step carefully down to the front door. I could see what looked like a very hopeful bin on one side, so I rang the doorbell. The person who opened the door had an Australian accent and he and his girlfriend, who came to join him, looked a bit bemused. It turns out it’s an Airbnb property and they were just guests staying there! They were happy for me to check the bin and I was ecstatic to be reunited with my (correctly addressed) parcel. I walked very gingerly back up the path and home to a relieved husband, who knew how much that parcel meant to me.

So all’s well that ends well, although I wasn’t best pleased with Royal Mail. Surely it should be a golden rule for all parcel deliveries, mail or courier, that nothing is left inside a recycling bin? Especially the night before collection day! 

Today’s photo was taken earlier in the day when the sun was shining through the leaves of our maple tree, showing a glimpse of our new bird bath in the background. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.