Saffron

Crocus cartwrightianus, believed to be the plant that the Saffron Crocus of horticulture is derived from.   That plant is not known as a wild plant but is most likely as ancient selection from this one.  The red style branches are harvested, in the Saffron Crocus these are twice as long as those shown above.  It's a plant of the Mediterranean region, in particular Greece, enjoying a well drained sunny spot in the garden.

A complicated day that started with a rude awakening.  I'd set an alarm so as to be in time to ring Ruth's GP and arrange a phone appointment but I inadvertently recycled an alarm that had the most strident ring tone so was woken be a Klaxon horn much to close to my ear!  It then took 30 minutes of redialling before I got into the call queue at number ten.   Soooo ... an hour later I was up and breakfasting having arranged an appointment for the afternoon.   Legal shenanigans next, sorting out a mix-up in the Transfer of Deeds form for the house in Norwich and then off to see the physio about my still wonky finger.  This was my mix-up as I having arrived at 1055, five minutes early I discovered I was actually an hour late!   BUT my embarrassment was immediately rescued as the patient scheduled for 1200 had arrived at 1000 and used my slot .... so I returned later and was fitted up with a night splint.   

Greenhouse time this afternoon included planting lots of crocus seed after a walk with C and the Megs.  Ruth's phone appointment went well, her new GPs seem excellent.   I got all the packages for the Crocus seed exchange posted along with the signed and witnessed copy of the revised transfer form.   So it's actually been a jolly and productive day as despite assorted trials and tribulations, everything has worked out well.

Light entertainment tonight when I tried out Jamie's new bed - extra pic - and we're now almost crying with laughter watching an old Taskmaster.   I do love Victoria Coren-Mitchell!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.