At the hospital

Since my eye didn’t get any better overnight, I went to the doctor and he sent me on to the hospital to an ophthalmologist.
Appointment at 15:30.

Joke came along because I wasn’t allowed to drive home.

The eye-doctor examined me and came with the diagnosis ‘vitreous detachment’.

Nothing she could do about it right now, she said. My eye needs to rest. But when I experience more flashes and spots in the near future (the next 12 months) I have to call immediately. That isn’t to be expected but you never know. It is operable in the UMC Groningen.
It’s a condition most people will have when they get older but because of the thump on my head yesterday it all happened a bit faster. Because of the blow a shockwave has gone through my eyeball causing the fleece that’s holding the moist together to detach from the retina. That’s what’s causing the flashes. Every flash is a bit more detachment.
Luckily the retina is still intact.

I went home not entirely reassured.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.