SonofLionel

By SonofLionel

Delicious - or, is it that I am a Fungi?

As ever at this time of year, the new moon stimulates the mushrooms in the local woods. The amazing edible versions are sought by the locals who want to get them quickly. I join in. I am not as “experienced”. The locals are very secretive about the locations they can be found. The woods are ancient, so information is passed down through word of mouth and family. Still, I am learning.
The mushroom on the left is a Cep (France), Porchini (Italy) or Penny Bun (UK) and is the best in the world. I found it by chance. There was a rain shower and I ducked under the shade of an oak. It was there. Brilliant!  The other two are the lesser Pine Bolete. Tasty, but not anywhere near as good. Other pics are of the Cep cooking in butter, garlic, shallot and parsley, with the final “mushrooms on toast” (on steroids). Loved it!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.