PINKTOBER - DAY 27 AND ABSTRACT THURSDAY

The iCaf was open this morning, but sadly we only had four people - but we still had a good time and in fact, it meant that those helping could spend more time one-on-one.  We think the fact that we didn’t have a session last week, coupled with the fact that it’s half term and many of those attending probably had children, meant that they couldn’t come or perhaps had forgotten.  However, we hope that more will come next week.

There were various activities, when they talked about Summer and were asked what it was like in their own country.  I missed this because I was sitting downstairs waiting to see if people came in through the main Church door.  I was wearing my summer hat and sunglasses so perhaps that put them off!  When it was evident that no more were coming, I was called back upstairs, as I had been asked to do the Bible Story at the end. This was the story of Adam and Eve but I decided that doing the “naked and covered with fig leaves”, wasn’t quite the thing to do on a cold October morning or ever for that matter!  However, I did take some of Mr. HCB’s Chrysanthemums to illustrate what can be grown in a garden together with lots of our gardening tools so that those attending could learn the names of them.  Those attending seemed to enjoy the session and we hope that more will come next week.

I went out into the garden looking for something pink - and as I have said recently, there are still plenty of flowers blooming - and I must confess that my ideas for Pinktober are a bit thin at the moment.  However, using my Kaleidacam app, I took several shots of the Dahlias, which were looking very pretty in the sunshine, so two for one today - for Pinktober and also for Abstract Thursday - and for my lovely Blip friend, LSquare, there is even some pareidolia!

You now the score now - but just in case you have forgotten, please click on this LINK so that those who cannot afford to pay for a mammogram can have one free - thank you so much.

“Sometimes it's the scars
     that remind you that you survived.
Sometimes the scars tell you
     that you have healed.”
Ashley D. Wallis

P.S.  A dear friend of mine, who reads my Blips every day, but isn't a member - I'm working on her - said the other day that whilst she clicks on the link every day, it makes her realise that whilst breast, ovarian and cervical cancer get highlighted, she wonders, after being diagnosed herself with uterine cancer, how many women know what to look out for - she has a valid point, I think. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.