This is the day

By wrencottage

Presence of Mind

It was a glorious sunrise this morning so, with great presence of mind, I grabbed this shot with my phone through an upstairs window before going downstairs. In the back of my mind was the thought that I’d got my blip if I didn’t take another photo all day.

Which I didn’t! It’s been another busy day with more carpet cleaning. The new machine is working brilliantly, and it’s not really hard work either. The tiring part is moving all the contents of the room round in order to clean a bit of the carpet at a time. Today I moved the king sized bed back to its normal position and did another section of carpet. We are fortunate enough to have a dehumidifier machine, which we bought to use in our cellar, and it’s doing sterling work at ensuring that the carpet is completely dry before we put things back. I won’t be able to do much more in this room until I get some help from a strong son to move some heavy packing boxes full of books out of the room. 

We had a bit of drama in our road today (see extras, and the photo is courtesy of Smithers!). We were alerted to the fact that a large tree had come down from inside one of the gardens, right across the road, taking an iron railing fence down with it. By the grace of God no-one was hurt, but it occurred near a right angled bend so it was very dangerous as cars coming round the bend would have had to stop abruptly when confronted with a felled tree within a few yards of the corner. To their credit, the Council were on the spot and dealing with it very promptly but the poor house owners are away abroad for half term. They are aware it’s happened and must be feeling very anxious – their home is now quite vulnerable without the railings.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.