a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Corvid Redux

Two days out and about in a row - things are definitely improving.  That said the walk around the Mendips today absolutely wore me out and I was glad to get home to be able to slump into a comfy chair.  Tomorrow I am most definitely going to be taking it easier. 

There appear to be plenty of ravens living on the Mendip edge, so this was not the hardest shot to obtain. I'm not sure what's happened to the ravens right wing tip (as you look at it), there's definitely some red there that was present in the original RAW file before I started editing.  I'm assuming that its blood, but whether the raven's blood or some unfortunate creature that its been eating who knows.

There's some really nice detail in the feathers, although you have to look in large, and (possibly) turn the brightness on your monitor up.   There's very little actually black in the shot, largely a patch under the raven's wing, but depending on your monitor brightness the bird may appear quite dark.  If I was printing it I would probably want to raise the exposure by 1EV or similar I suspect.  Taking pictures of very dark birds against bright skies is not the easiest of challenges :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.