Flossmo

By Flossmo

Wet and dry

I awoke this morning to the sound of torrential rain. I immediately headed back beneath the covers with my iPad and glasses. I eventually surfaced, later than planned, and, after breakfast and a final packing session, I hit the road at 9:15. Miraculously the rain had dropped and there was even a hint of sunshine.

By 10:30 I was outside the Wednesbury IKEA ready for a shopathon. I really enjoyed my potter around the marketplace, guiltily popping a few things I don't need into my trolley as well as the couple of items I did. I was sorely tempted by the cinnamon bun and coffee for 30p but I resisted. I contemplated just having the coffee and no bun but I knew I would never be able to do it so I looked the other way as I made my way past the cafe counter. I was helped enormously by the fact I had bought a 'floor protector' (the curiously named Kolon for the IKEA aficionados) which was too big for my trolley and which I had balanced across it like some ungainly aircraft carrier. It took all my obstacle navigation skills to get through the revolving doors and back to the car.

Back on the road the sun was shining and the journey home was quite uneventful considering it was a Friday. I guess being half-term meant few people than usual were traveling.

As I drew up outside the house mid-afternoon Mr Flossmo appeared, to help bring my bags in. I then had a furry reunion with Sky who seems to have recovered remarkably. Her shaved flank is growing back and although there is a slightly raised area the wound is now quite hard to see.

I have been slowly unpacking and sorting but I plan to do the bulk of it tomorrow. Back to reality I guess.  

The photograph was taken this morning before leaving the cottage.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.