Woodbine

I was telling MrQ this morning how sad I am that our backdoor grapevine has died. This time of year its leaves would be wonderful autumn colours and it would be swarming with insects and butterflies making the most of the overripe grapes.

I went out with the macro lens after lunch to see what I could find on the ivy and, lo and behold, some fresh green shots have sprouted from the gnarly old vine stem! I'm so happy. I also found these honeysuckle blooms. I don't remember seeing them at this time of year before. 

I remember Woodbine cigarettes, named after the common name for honeysuckle, from when I was a child. My father didn't smoke tailor mades, he used to roll his own using Old Holborn. John Lennon smoked Woodbines before he switched to Gauloises Bleues and Prince Philip's mother enjoyed puffing on them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.