Fading beauty

It was a little cloudy this morning, but gradually the cloud dissipated and the sun shone and it stayed that way all day.

I caught up with blip comments and blippers I’m following then did an hour’s work before having lunch.  

I have two friends, a couple, whose 50th wedding anniversary it was on Friday.  The husband has motor neurone disease and the wife dementia and a serious medical condition.  They were together in the same care home for two years, but for the last year they’ve been in separate care homes because the wife has been moved to a secure dementia unit.  I went to visit the wife this afternoon.  She always recognises me and usually talks about our school days and the things we did together, but today she wasn’t at all talkative and I felt she’d deteriorated since my last visit.  I came out emotionally drained by the fact that two friends, whom I’ve known since I was a teenager and who were active, decent people, are in such a situation and have been dealt such a cruel hand.

Today’s blip is of a fading Clivea bloom, and the extra is some fun I had with the petals on the table.  I’ve been intrigued by some clever things Brianblip does with collages and decided to give it a try. Not as successful as Brianblip (https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/3033087062535309029), but a start.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.