Colstro

By Colstro

Waiting (2)

I am getting into the habit of photographing young ladies waiting around in London.
Today's picture was taken in the courtyard of Somerset House on a lovely sunny afternoon. I went there to see the Sony World Photography awards - a large and excellent exhibition. There were photographs representing a large number of different themes, including people, portraits, landscapes, still life, arts and culture, contemporary issues, etc. Some superb images.

I still had time afterwards to pop in to the Photographers' Gallery. There I particularly wanted to see a small but wonderful display of Bert Hardy street photography from the early 1950s, but while I was there I also viewed the Deutcshe Borse Photography prize. My personal favourite was the Chris Killip entry (more street-style photography). I confess I couldn't see how Mishka Henner was nominated. How can photographs downloaded from Google Street View, no matter how carefully selected and presented, qualify the downloader for a major photography prize?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.