Llyn Geirionedd

Amazingly, we wake to sunshine - a wonderful start to November. A quick check of the forecast, however, suggests this will be short lived, so if we want to spend any time outdoors we’ll need to make an early start. 

Thankfully, I’m feeling better today - still sore and tired, but definitely better. I’m ready for a short walk with my camera, but not for anything more strenuous. 

We drive west, then decide to follow what blue sky is left and head up the Conwy valley to Llyn Geirionedd, passing glorious autumn scenery en route. By the time we arrive, of course, the sun has gone and the still lake I’ve hoped for is rippled by a strong breeze. Still, there are some breaks in the clouds, and a walk around the western edges of the lake often reveals still water. 

And sure enough, suddenly there’s a burst of sunlight highlighting the autumn trees reflected in this perfect stillness. There’s even a crested grebe swimming along, breaking the surface in the distance by the trees. 

And just as quickly, the moment’s gone; by the time I make my way back to the car the clouds have darkened and all that beauty disappears behind a curtain of rain which continues for the remainder of the day. 

I’m afraid I can’t resist a few extras, including one of the rain! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.