Toad

Two days ago it was confirmed that my fencing/driveway/patio works would begin tomorrow morning and last for about ten days, depending on the weather obviously. Well I was in the charity shop yesterday so I began preparing in the garden today, starting at about 8.30am because heavy rain was forecast for this afternoon, although it hasn't arrived yet.

Two Penstemons were cut back and moved, the Broom from the front garden has gone to the back, I've transplanted a few foxgloves, the Bergenia is awaiting instructions in an old washing-up bowl and I dug out the Ceanothus completely, I love it but it's too big! 

I lifted the slabs that I'd inset into the back lawn not very long ago, doh! I hadn't appreciated that it'll be better if the lawn level is lowered, and then stacked them in the garage out of the way. All three dustbins are now in the garage too... in fact they might stay there, I'll see.

I marked out on the front lawn where I want the edge of the extended drive to be, although they can adjust it a little if necessary. I need to put a line on the ground if I'm handing over responsibility to someone else for the doing, it's not enough that I've explained it while waving my hands about!

The photo is of a toad that I surprised when digging out the Ceanothus. Thank goodness I didn't stick the fork through him, I can still remember Mum telling us that she'd done that about 50 years ago. She was upset... as the toad must've been too :-( I moved this one up into the corner, I hope he can find somewhere to hide.

Extras of front and back for the record. Afterwards there will need to be more plants shifted about.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.