He Speaks for the Trees

Unless someone like you cares a whole awful lot,
Nothing is going to get better. It's not.
Dr. Seuss, The Lorax.

I had lunch plans with some dear friends which featured very good conversation, as well as a most excellent salad topped with golden and crispy fries. And then my husband and I took off for Colyer Lake, a place we had not gone together in several months, if not as much as a year.

I had wanted to go there to see the foliage colors at peak, but the colors have already moved through our area and a lot of the trees have lost their leaves now. The leaves that remain are trending toward browns; in fact, the Crayon color of the day that everyone seemed to be wearing was burnt sienna.

We wandered away from the parking lot and around the lake, and discovered two white Adirondack chairs sitting by a lovely view of the lake. A message on the one chair said, "Enjoy the view." So we sat down and enjoyed the afternoon sunshine and read our books, and I strolled around taking photos.

There is some amusing signage there, as well as entertaining things attached to several of the trees. Helpful signs saying "Yonder!" and "This way!" and "That way!" And then there was this fellow, who I can only imagine is a protector of these trees.

I do not know if he may be ent or druid or lorax, but I took several photos of him, against a background of a couple of the golden and orange trees. For there are still pockets of pretty colors, everywhere.

As a fellow tree lover, I must add my own two cents, which is to say these two things: 1) Take care of, protect, and defend your trees. 2) If you love me - oh if you love me at all - plant a tree!

I came across this cool song around Halloween, and I am including it here: Peter Hollens and Bailey Pelkman, with a mashup of Come Little Children and The Hanging Tree.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.