Autumn Splendor in the Cemetery

I had a dentist appointment near Boalsburg, and as is my tradition when I have the time, afterwards I stop at the big cemetery there and walk around, visiting the quiet dead, paying my respects, taking pictures. I was delighted on this day to discover that the tree row along the road has turned to beautiful shades of red and orange. It was a perfect time to visit!

The tombstone featured in the main photo is one that was knocked down a number of years ago by vandals. I was there to see it down. I was there to see it raised back up. So I feel invested in it, somehow. Here it is at the center of my photo, looking wonderful, standing tall, flanked by beautiful trees.

I didn't have anywhere specific I had to be in any sort of rush, so I headed off to visit a second cemetery: a sweet little spot in Pine Grove Mills with orderly grave stones, a few lovely trees, and the last of November's pink and red roses shining out with beauty, on the day before our first frost would take them at last.

But on the way there, I spotted a marvelously decorated haunted house in Pine Grove Mills (PGM). It had all kinds of spooky creatures and Halloween figures and decorations. There is a photo in the extras of a gathering of ghosties. It was lots of fun to photograph! Well done, PGM peeps, well done!

With two cemeteries and a haunted house under my belt, I was feeling very spiffy indeed. I capped my little photo jaunt off with a quick stop to photograph some orange trees at Fairbrook Park. Everything is so pretty around here right now. Don't forget to stop and LOOK! (And take pictures, if you have your camera!)

Here is a song for a place where everything is so pretty right now: Mark Knopfler, with Darling Pretty.

It's time to come away, my darling pretty
It's time to come away on the changing tide
Time to come away, darling pretty
And I need you darling by my side


Heal me with a smile, darling pretty
Heal me with a smile and a heart of gold
Carry me awhile, my darling pretty
Heal my aching heart and soul

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.