Partaking of some purvey

purvey (pronounced pur-vee) The food and drink provided after a funeral, at a wedding reception, etc. is known as purvey. The word comes from the Old French porveeir, which in turn comes from the Latin providere to provide.


Today I take up the baton of The Dictionary Project, and it's hard following the blippers who have snapped all those words before me. However, I'm looking forward to the challenge. Here goes...

My dictionary of choice is the Collins Gem Scots Dictionary: everyday words and phrases from all over Scotland. I bought this dictionary for my work colleagues when I first moved down to Brighton from Edinburgh in 1995. The English folk found my accent and my choice of words and phrases a little peculiar. My accent has dulled a little over time, but can be easily revived by alcohol and/or by talking to a fellow Scot.

My first word 'purvey' at first conjures up other definitions. I certainly didn't think of food and drink. As I didn't have a wedding or a funeral to attend today, I've chosen to blip the food that I provided for F and I to show that the weekend has indeed arrived. The local curry house cooks the best curry we've tasted in the UK and it's always a treat to celebrate the start of the weekend with a curry. It was delicious! You're looking at vegetable korma, Bombay aloo, pumpkin bhaji, fried rice and a Peshwari naan with chopped onion and tomato as a side. It was eaten while watching 'The Apprentice' - I thought Deborah would go this week, but no!

I've had a great day working at an office in London Bridge. It's a good crowd in that office and I enjoy the work. At lunchtime, some more work came in. Crikey, I am busy, but that's great!

We're off to Weymouth tomorrow with the kayak. I'll bring the wee dictionary with me and let's see what happens.


Happy, Happy Bank Holiday Weekend! I hope you are all partaking of celebratory purvey, too.




Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.