Morning walk

The day started bright and sunny, and I decided to visit one of the local parks where we sometimes see kingfishers.
I did find a pair of kingfishers, largely thanks to a helpful fellow walker with a pair of binoculars (see shot in extra).  The birds were perching in among dense foliage, and so weren't easy to spot. Having traded in one long zoom lens for a different one recently, I'm still getting used to the lens' slightly heavier weight. The autofocus is more dependable, but my ability to keep the camera steady is not :-)  So I'm going to need to use a tripod or a monopod more often. Despite that, just watching the pair of birds on the pond above Shepherd Wheel was a delight.
The shot I liked best from the walk, however, was an expanse of fungi on a tree trunk, delicately sprinkled with frost (the first frost I've noticed so far, this year). It reminded me of lebkuchen - small, spicy biscuits, often decorated with a light sugary glaze. Jack and Ruth loved them when they were growing up.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.