Derelict Sunday

Thanks to 60Plus for hosting this week. I think this old score board would look a lot better without the new advertising sign up there. I can’t make out the words at the top which are nicely aged. 

This is in the cricket ground which has recently been done up at a cost of millions. There was a velodrome inside the fence but they have removed it and redone all the grass. The ground has hosted international teams from 1862 to 2003 including HH Stephenson’s all England XI, WG Grace’s England XI and India to name a few. I have heard of Grace and India (of course) but not the former. 

I’ve had a busy day, finishing the Kon Marie clothes project and now I’ve started on the garage. I’ve also done the weeding down the side where there are some self seeded tomatoes. They were fabulous last year and kept us in tomatoes all summer. 

Very proud of our granddaughter Olivia who won the 12-13 years age group teams event at the Physical Culture National Finals yesterday. They have a team of 8 and do a series of five events ( dance, exercise, floor drill, relaxed and another I forget). Today she returned and was in the older age group for 15 years to Seniors and came first in their section. Even getting to the finals is an honour so to win is really special. The individual event is on later in the month and I will go down to Sydney to watch. 

I have blipped the second and third books in the Thursday Murder Club series. I loved the first story and gave the second 10/10 as well. I’m saving the third for a long train trip booked for next Friday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.